Texas Society for Music Theory
44th Annual Meeting
March 4 - 5, 2022
University of North Texas

Keynote Speaker - Kofi Agawu

The Texas Society for Music Theory will hold its 44th annual meeting at the University of North Texas, with Justin Lavacek serving as local arrangements coordinator. Kofi Agawu, author of The African Imagination in Music and Music as Discourse: Semiotic Adventures in Romantic Music, will deliver the keynote address. Ben Graf, Paul Thomas, and Jennifer Weaver, creators of the Note Doctors podcast, will lead a plenary pedagogy session.

The conference will be held in a hybrid in-person/online format. Presenters are asked to travel to Denton. Those not presenting may participate in person or virtually. All paper sessions, including the keynote and pedagogy sessions, will be livestreamed. Both in-person and virtual attendees may participate in the Q&A sessions.

The Society invites the submission of proposals on any aspect of music theory or music theory-related interdisciplinary research topics. Proposals may be formatted as scholarly papers, posters, panel discussions, or special sessions.

To submit a proposal, upload the following as a single PDF:

  1. Abstract of 100-150 words
  2. Proposal of no more than 500 words
  3. Supplementary materials of no more than 2 pp. (may include diagrams, examples, works cited, bibliography, etc.)
As a separate PDF, upload a bio of 50 words or less.

Proposals are being accepted at: https://forms.gle/cwkaPaQoBZByfMzVA
     Only complete submissions uploaded to the above address by November 29, 2021 will be considered.
     Questions about submitting a proposal may be addressed to David Forrest.

All student presenters will be considered for the TSMT Colvin Award for best student presentation. The recipient of the 2022 Colvin Award will receive $250.00 and an invitation to serve on the 2023 Program Committee.

TSMT Executive Board
David Forrest (Texas Tech University), President
Cynthia I. Gonzales (Texas State University), Past-President
Kevin Clifton (Sam Houston State University), Secretary
Andrew Davis (University of Houston), Treasurer
Amy Fleming (Baylor University)
Susan de Ghizé (Texas A&M-Corpus Christi)
Samantha Inman (Stephen F. Austin State University)
Ann Stutes (Wayland Baptist University)

TSMT 2022 Program Committee
Stacey Davis (University of Texas at San Antonio)
Yiyi Gao (University of North Texas, winner of the 2021 Colvin Award)
Charles Leinberger (University of Texas at El Paso)
Angela Ripley (Baylor University)

This page is maintained by Philip Baczewski

[TSMT Web Site]