Texas Society for Music Theory
43rd Annual Conference
March 5 - 6, 2021
Virtual Conference

The Texas Society for Music Theory will hold its 43rd annual meeting virtually. The annual business meeting will convene at 4:00 pm on Friday, March 5, followed by a social time via break-out rooms. The academic conference will commence on Saturday, March 6. The keynote address on Saturday morning March 6 will be delivered as a live event by Philip Ewell, an Associate Professor at CUNY Hunter College with a joint appointment at CUNY Graduate Center.

The Society invites the submission of proposals on any aspect of music theory or music theory-related interdisciplinary research topics. Proposals may be formatted as scholarly papers, panel discussions, or special sessions. Conference presentations will be delivered via pre-recorded video (no longer than 20 minutes), which must be submitted by February 6, along with any PDF handout. All will be posted in mid-February. On Saturday, March 6, sessions will feature live Q&A discussions with a moderator and presenters, at which presenters will deliver a mini-lightning talk version of their video before answering questions.

Proposals are being accepted at: https://forms.gle/ejkdzScQegxfgTjY7

To submit a proposal, upload the following as a single PDF:

  1. Abstract of 100-150 words
  2. Proposal of 500-750 words
  3. Supplementary materials of no more than 2 pp. (may include diagrams, examples, works cited, bibliography, etc.)
As a separate PDF, upload a bio of 50 words or less.


30 November 2020Deadline to submit proposal
Mid-DecemberNotification of submission status, followed by release of Program
6 February 2021Deadline for presenters to submit video presentations and supplemental handout (PDF)
Mid-FebruaryVideo presentations available for viewing
5 March, 4 pmTSMT 2021 Business Meeting followed by virtual social hour
6 MarchTSMT 2021 [Virtual] Conference

All student presenters will be considered for the TSMT Colvin Award for best student presentation.

TSMT Executive Board
Cynthia I. Gonzales (Texas State University), President
David Forrest (Texas Tech University), President-Elect
Kevin Clifton (Sam Houston State University), Secretary
Andrew Davis (University of Houston), Treasurer
Ellen Bakulina (University of North Texas)
Samantha Inman (Stephen F. Austin State University)
Eric Lai (Baylor University)
Ann Stutes (Wayland Baptist University)

TSMT 2021 Program Committee

Amy Fleming (Baylor University)
Robert Hatten (University of Texas at Austin)
Katrina Roush (University of Texas Rio Grande Valley)
Scott Strovas (Wayland Baptist University)
Andrew Vagts (University of North Texas), 2020 TSMT Colvin Award Recipient

This page is maintained by Philip Baczewski

[TSMT Web Site]