Texas Society for Music Theory
39th Annual Conference
February 24 - 25, 2017
University of Houston
Houston, Texas

Keynote speaker - Dmitri Tymoczko (Princeton University)

The Texas Society for Music Theory will hold its 39th annual meeting this spring at the University of Houston, with John Snyder serving as local arrangements coordinator. Dmitri Tymoczko, author of A Geometry of Music (2011), will deliver the keynote address, entitled "The Thousand Faces of Form."

The Society invites the submission of proposals for scholarly papers and panel discussions on any aspect of music theory or music theory-related interdisciplinary research. Special sessions may also be proposed. Presentations within special sessions may be in the form of demonstrations, panel discussions, lecture-recitals, or traditional papers.

Scholars at all stages of their careers are also encouraged to submit proposals for presentation on a poster session. Topics for the posters may come from any area of music theory. Posters selected will be presented at a dedicated conference session.

Submission details:

Each submitter will be notified of the selection committee's decision in late December. The program will be announced in early January along with full registration and travel information. Student presenters wishing to be considered for the TSMT Colvin Award must send a PDF of the complete paper to the above email address on, or before, February 1, 2017. Abstracts of all papers and posters chosen for presentation will be published on the TSMT web site (http://texasmusictheory.org/).

TSMT Executive Board

Peter Martens (Texas Tech University), President
Graham Hunt (University of Texas at Arlington), Past President
Philip Baczewski (University of North Texas), Secretary
Andrew Davis (University of Houston), Treasurer
Charles Leinberger (University of Texas at El Paso)
David Forrest (Texas Tech University)
Jennifer Weaver (Dallas Baptist University)
Joshua Albrecht (University of Mary Hardin-Baylor)

Program Committee

Damian Blättler (Rice University)
Eric Lai (Baylor University)
Sarah Sarver (Oklahoma City University)
John Turci-Escobar (University of Texas at Austin)

This page is maintained by Philip Baczewski

[TSMT Web Site]